NI leaders shortlisted for UK IoD Director of the Year awards

  • Business leaders from across Northern Ireland have been shortlisted in the UK-wide Director of the Year awards, founded by the Institute of Directors (IoD).

    The nominees were among category winners at the IoD’s recent Northern Ireland Director of the Year awards, sponsored by First Trust Bank.

    The full list of finalists in each category for the Northern Ireland-based directors is as follows:

    Director of the Year – Chair’s Award - William Barnett, W&R Barnett

    Director of the Year – Family Business - Angela Bennett, Diamond Systems

    Director of the Year – Inclusivity - Jackie Henry MBE, Deloitte

    Director of the Year – Innovation - Alan Lowry, Environmental Street Furniture

    Director of the Year – International - Lisa McLaughlin, Herbert Smith Freehills

    Director of the Year – Large - Nick Whelan, Dale Farm

    Director of the Year – Non-Executive - Mark Ennis, SSE Airtricity

    Director of the Year – Public Sector - Jill Minne, Northern Ireland Civil Service

    Director of the Year – SME - Angela Bennett, Diamond Systems

    Director of the Year – Start-Up - Robert McConnell, Pinnacle Professional

    Director of the Year – Third Sector - Carol Fitzsimons, Young Enterprise NI

    Director of the Year – Young - Naoimh McAteer, MJM Group

    Gordon Milligan, the IoD Northern Ireland chairman said: “Leaders from Northern Ireland have enjoyed tremendous success at the national IoD Director of the Year Awards over recent years, as our region continues to punch above its weight on the grand stage. With an exceptionally high calibre of shortlisted directors representing organisations across the private, public, and third sectors, I have no doubt they will shine as brightly this year as ever before."

    “Congratulations go to all the nominees that prove the level of management and leadership among the business community in Northern Ireland is of the very highest standard.”

    Entries across the 13 categories will be evaluated by a panel of acclaimed judges including Duncan Wardle, former vice-president of innovation and creativity at Disney, Kathryn Baddeley, head of CSR at Cisco UK and Ireland, and Jacqui McKinlay, chief executive of the Centre for Public Scrutiny.

    The event will be held in October 2019 at The Brewery, which occupies the site of Samuel Whitbread’s historic brew house in London. It will also be hosted by renowned newscaster Sir Trevor McDonald.

    Source: Written based on press release

    About the author

    Niamh is a Sync NI writer with a previous background of working in FinTech and financial crime. She has a special interest in sports and emerging technologies. To connect with Niamh, feel free to send her an email or connect on Twitter.

    Got a news-related tip you’d like to see covered on Sync NI? Email the editorial team for our consideration.

Share this story