Shortlist revealed for IoD NI Director of the Year awards

  • The list of finalists has been revealed for this year's Institute of Directors (IoD) Northern Ireland Director of the Year award.

    Each year, the Institute of Directors highlights the most effective leadership in business across the country with its regional Director of the Year award. This year will see stiff competition for the top spot, with the awards set to take place at a gala ceremony in The Merchant Hotel in Belfast next month.

    Gordon Milligan, Chairman, IoD NI said "The Northern Ireland Director of the Year Awards has produced a stellar shortlist that includes some of our most dynamic and successful business leaders from across the private, public and third sectors. As an organisation, we want to support and encourage directors to continually improve standards and constantly raising the bar of their success. The calibre of this year’s finalists demonstrates that is exactly what they are doing."

    The 2019 shortlist is:

    1. Director of the Year – Non-Executive – sponsored by Deloitte

    • Jayne Brady, Non-Executive Director, B-Secur
    • Frank Bryan, Vistage Chair
    • Mark Ennis, Chairman, SSE Airtricity

    2. Director of the Year – Innovation – sponsored by KPMG

    • Becca Hume, TapSOS
    • Alan Lowry, Environmental Street Furniture
    • Johnny Matthews, See Me Hired
    • Brian Parkes, Queen’s University, Belfast

    3. Director of the Year – Young – sponsored by Carson McDowell

    • Noeleen Breen, Sixteen South
    • Savannah Dodd, Photography Ethics Centre
    • Naoimh McAteer, MJM Group
    • Garrett O'Hare, Bradley NI
    • Natasha Rodgers, Rodgers & Finney

    4. Director of the Year – Public/Third Sector – sponsored by Capita Managed IT Solutions

    • Anita Conway, Radius Housing Association
    • Anne Donaghy, Mid & East Antrim
    • Carol Fitzsimons, Young Enterprise NI
    • Joanne McGowan, Ulster University
    • Jill Minne, Northern Ireland Civil Service
    • Brian Parkes, Queen’s University, Belfast

    5. Director of the Year – Family Business – sponsored by BDO Northern Ireland

    • Angela Bennett, Diamond Systems
    • John Jameson, iota
    • Mairead Mackle, Homecare Independent Living
    • Dwyer Magee, Creagh Concrete
    • Andrew Rooney, Rooney Fish

    6. Director of the Year – International – sponsored by Invest Northern Ireland

    • David Ausdahl, Lowden Guitars
    • Alan Lowry - Environmental Street Furniture
    • Lisa McLaughlin, Herbert Smith Freehills

    7. Director of the Year – Small to Medium Business sponsored by Ulster University Business School

    • Angela Bennett, Diamond Systems
    • Dr Scott Fischaber, Analytics Engines
    • Peter Thomas, DLRT

    8. Director of the Year – Inclusivity – Sponsored by Abacus

    • Paul Gillen, Pinsent Masons
    • Jackie Henry, Deloitte
    • Leigh Meyer, Citi
    • Brian Parkes, Queen’s University, Belfast
    • James Richards, Baker McKenzie

    9. Director of the Year – Start-Up – sponsored by Amplifi Solutions

    • Dr Kelly Clark, Orryx
    • Jenny Ervine, AirPOS
    • Charlene Hegarty, Zero Myth
    • Robert McConnell, Pinnacle Professional
    • Carol Rossborough, ESTHER

    10. Director of the Year – Large Business - Sponsored by Armagh Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council

    • Claire Colvin, CDE Global
    • John McLean, Radius Housing Association
    • Nick Whelan, Dale Farm
    • Philip Woolsey, Greiner Packaging

    Source: Written based on press release

    About the author

    Brendan is a Sync NI writer with a special interest in the gaming sector, programming, emerging technology, and physics. To connect with Brendan, feel free to send him an email or follow him on Twitter.

    Got a news-related tip you’d like to see covered on Sync NI? Email the editorial team for our consideration.

Share this story