Google Maps is now available in 39 new languages

  • Google announced in a blog post that their service Google Maps is now available in 39 new languages.

    The languages include Afrikaans, Danish, Hebrew, Icelandic, Mongolian, Slovak, Swahili, Turkish, and Vietnamese, and are spoken by approximately 1.25 billion people.

    Google launched the service fourteen years ago which, at the time, only supported English.

    Though the company announced these new languages, it did not give an indication as to how many total languages the service supports.

    “Fast forward to today, and now more than 1 billion people use Google Maps to discover new places, find the best driving, biking, and walking routes, and get things done in the real world,” the company said in their blog post.

    These new languages will be coming to the mobile and desktop versions of Google Maps, launching on Android, iOS and browsers.

    About the author

Share this story